Recent Achievements of the University of Haifa Reflected at 41st Board of Governors Meeting

It was a busy three days at the 41st Annual Meeting of Board of Governors, the 200 member international body responsible for the management and leadership of the University of Haifa, which convened in early June.

ASUH Board Chairman Warren Gleicher led a delegation of nearly 20 from the U.S., who not only participated in meetings with University administrative and faculty leaders, planning sessions, discussion panels and campus tours, but also witnessed the conferring of five Honorary Doctorate degrees and other major awards.

The U.S. contingent was also on hand when one of their own, Professor Alfred Tauber, was named Chairman of the Board of Governors for a three-year term beginning this October, when he succeeds American Leon H. Charney, who provided inspiring leadership as Chairman since 2007. Mr. Charney will become Honorary Chairman of the Board of Governors.

One of the highlights of the meetings was the official opening of the The Maurice Kanbar Natural Sciences Laboratory Complex. The facility will provide state-of-the-art laboratories to support the work of Israeli scientists from abroad who are returning to was the
Other major events included:

  • the launch of the National Center for Mediterranean Sea Research at the University,
  • a program to mark the University being chosen to establish “LINKS”: Learning in a Networked Society – an Israeli Center of Research Excellence (I-CORE),
  • a celebration of a decade of progress at the School of Political Sciences, and
  • the 40th anniversary to the Jewish-Arab Center.

Honorary Doctorates were conferred on –
Ms. Shulamit Aloni , Israel – a pioneer in the struggle for a just and equal society
Mr. Josl Bergner, Israel – a world renowned illustrator, set designer and artist
Professor Ruth Berman, Israel – a prominent research in linguists and the Hebrew language
Professor Amos Nur, USA – a groundbreaking researcher in both earth and marine science
Mr. Gianni Pittella, Italy – a member of the European Parliament who fights against discrimination and anti-Semitism and has strengthened relations between nations and cultures.

The Outstanding Leadership Award was presented to Morris Kahn, a businessman and investor for his contributions to Israel in telecommunications and marine research and his commitment to education and leadership development for the younger generation.

The Carmel Award of Merit was awarded to Imad Telhami, an enterprising Christian Arab businessman for his groundbreaking leadership and being a living role model that any goal is attainable and every obstacle can serve as a catapult to success.

Professor Zvia Breznitz was granted the Life Achievement Award and Professor Asaid Khateb received the Academic Excellence Award in the name of the Edmond J. Safra Research Center for the Study of Learning Disabilities.

%d bloggers like this: